Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Email Format



This technical/avant garde death metal band has an approach to extreme music not quite like anything you’ve previously heard. Math metal and progressive death metal have long demonstrated how bands can fit notes and chords into a guitar progression in ways that hadn’t been attempted, making it sound chaotic while being even more tight and orderly than their predecessors. It showed new ways of playing that could be expanded upon by musicians to follow. Today bands are still traveling the path the first math metal bands set in the late 1990s/early 2000s, and every now and then one will enter my world to my gratitude. One fan posting feedback about Coma Cluster Void on their official Bandcamp page described them as how it would sound “if Meshuggah lost their fucking minds at a Gorguts concert.” This sounds descriptive and accurate enough, only I’d wonder what might come of a meeting between Sigh and The Dillinger Escape Plan. Coma Cluster Void is a collaboration spanning three countries: the States, Canada and Germany. The collective minds that spawned Mind Cemeteries have created something cutting edge and schizophrenically diverse. After two singles and one album, the band is already being hailed as groundbreaking by internet magazines such as No Clean Singing and Metal Injection. This alone shows potential to transcend the financial issues surrounding indie label and unsigned bands and convince zine editors to take note. Coma Cluster Void take genuine chances with their material, ignoring the constraints of financial viability and fabricated acceptance, and it doesn’t take long to realize the open mindedness that fueled them to risk everything in the songwriting and composition process. The brief intro Prologue: I Am sounds like something you might hear on a black metal album, making it possible for the following cuts to take the listener completely by surprise. The bait-and-switch between the intro and the rest of the songs is a profound moment. The dissonant, wholly unorthodox complexity of Iron Empress, Drowning Into Sorrow. Mind Cemeteries and The Hollow Gaze is something listeners will either love as pure genius or hate as pure noise, though its level of originality will more than satisfy those thrashers seeking something different, with its inventive arrangements and manic death-metal-meets-jazz drumming. The mood generated by the intro appears a second time in Interlude: I See Through Your Pain and Epilogue: As I Walk Amongst The Sick. The inclusion of these three pieces goes a long way toward making this album more of an artistic statement than it would have been if they weren’t included. Also check out the band’s promotional video for Everything Is Meant To Kill Us, on their Youtube profile. - Dave Wolff

Track list:
1.    Prologue: I Am
2.    Iron Empress
3.    Drowning Into Sorrow
4.    Path Of Lies
5.    Mind Cemeteries
6.    Interlude: I See Through Your Pain
7.    The Hollow Gaze
8.    Everything Is Meant To Kill Us
9.    Petrified Tears
10.    All Bitter Endings
11.    Epilogue: As I Walk Amongst The Sick

"a psychological fear that embraces everything, dissonance in a totally ordered and measured chaos, ..."


Coma Cluster Void y el vídeo de 'Everything Is Meant To Kill Us' con Lord Worm

Coma Cluster Void y el vídeo de ‘Everything Is Meant To Kill Us’ con Lord Worm

19 Octubre, 2016

Hoy nos llega esta tremenda propuesta llamada Coma Cluster Void, afincada en EEUU, aunque con miembros también de Alemania y Canadá. Con su último disco, ‘Mind Cemeteries‘, en la calle desde agosto de 2016, están alcanzando una reputación acorde con la calidad y la brutalidad de su música. Un death metal totalmente vanguardista, oscuro, exageradamente pesado y poco convencional.

En este gris y aterrador video de Magma Studios se mezclan muchas variantes que probablemente nos enganchen si aun no conocemos a la banda. Un miedo psicológico que lo envuelve todo, disonancia en un caos totalmente ordenado y medido, destructoras guitarras de diez cuerdas que engordan su dureza dandole un pequeño toque djent e industrial y la colaboración de Lord Worm, quien fuera vocalista y miembro fundador de Cryptopsy.

Este tema en concreto podría sonar a un eslabón perdido entre ‘Need To Control‘ (1994) de Brutal Truth y el sonido del mañana en el metal extremo. Pero mejor no comparar. Mejor seguirles la pista de cerca.


Honestly, Coma Cluster Void are fucking terrifying. Utilizing 10 string guitars to create a mind-blasting sonic landscape of avant-garde death metal, Mind Cemeteries became my pick for album of August out of nowhere. When they contacted us wanting to premiere a video, I was simultaneously stoked and nervous. What does a Coma Cluster Void music video look like? Well, it looks exactly like how it sounds.

Claustrophobic and dark shots of the band playing barely out of reach, juxtaposed against someone having a mental breakdown. Yep, these visuals accurately convey how “Everything Is Meant To Kill Us” sounds. Coma Cluster Void play with one’s understanding of tempo and riffing to create a great sense of unease. It’s quite difficult to follow the rhythm no matter what instrument one focuses on. The guitar doesn’t play anything conventionally resembling a “riff” either, just dissonant and discordant noises. It’s actually interesting to see how the 10 strings are utilized, if only through brief glimpses. The unsettling icing the disturbing cake is Lord Worm, formerly of Cryptopsy contributing vocals on this song. The legendary vocalist seems like a perfect fit for the song and the band. Overall, Coma Cluster Void’s Mind Cemeteries is the most bizarre, heaviest, creepiest death metal album of the year, and this video does the song justice. Go check the album out already. Do it. Here, let me help you:

"My latest fanzine issue contains a review of your latest album, which was just fantastic, one of my favourite albums this year."


Idealan, prosto idealan naziv albuma za ovaj vrtlog! Pašćete pod kontrolu moždanog lavirinta slušajući debi album kanadskog sastava Coma Cluster Void koji se sprema već godinama, i neki fanovi, uključujući i moju malenkost smo jako bli nestrpljivi da ovo izađe, i pratili smo svaki korak na soundcloudu(pa čak iako mi to nije toliko omiljena muzička platforma), imali su demo snimke tamo, isplatilo se, definitivno. Coma Cluster Void se sastoji od ekstremih muzičara, ali bih napomenuo da je vokal jebeni Mike Disalvo, bivši pevač Cryptopsy-a, da budem precizan na albumu And Then you'll beg. On, i još par super mozgova su postigli nemoguće, ono najmanje očekivano, kesu 11 savršenih pesama brutalnog i progresivnog math/death metala, jako čudnog i disonantnog načina sviranja i neobičnih Disalvo vokala, i ovo se možda neće svakome svideti na prvo slušanje, ali ko ima strpljenja, vremenom će zavoleti album, isto kako i album njega. Da bude fer situacija.

Download the magazine: